Councillors by ward

Salford City Council has 60 councillors, or elected members, who represent particular areas, known as electoral wards. There are 20 wards and all have three councillors who each serve for four years. Most councillors represent political parties, although they do not have to. Elections take place three out of every four years, when one seat in each ward is open for election. The councillors are listed alphabetically below. Should you wish to consult a local councillor, just click on their name below for further information.

Key to colours used



Councillor Party Retirement
Michele Barnes Labour 2019
David Jolley Labour 2018
John Mullen Labour 2016

Boothstown and Ellenbrook

Councillor Party Retirement
Andy Cheetham Conservative 2016
Jillian Collinson Conservative 2018
Robin Garrido Conservative 2019


Councillor Party Retirement
Jim King Labour 2016
Charles McIntyre Labour 2019
John Merry CBE (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2018


Councillor Party Retirement
Christine Hudson Labour 2018
Jimmy Hunt Labour 2019
John Walsh Labour 2016


Councillor Party Retirement
Sareda Dirir Labour 2018
Joe Murphy Labour 2019
Sue Pugh Labour 2016


Councillor Party Retirement
Lisa Stone (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2019
Michael Wheeler Labour 2018
Peter Wheeler Labour 2016


Councillor Party Retirement
Roger Jones (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2018
Tracy Kelly (Chair Children's Scrutiny Panel) Labour 2016
Peter Taylor Labour 2019

Irwell Riverside

Councillor Party Retirement
Stephen Coen Labour 2016
Jane Hamilton Labour 2018
Stephen Ord Labour 2019


Councillor Party Retirement
Peter Connor Labour 2016
Harry Davies Labour 2019
Ann-Marie Humphreys Labour 2018


Councillor Party Retirement
Paul Dennett (Strategic Assistant Mayor) Labour 2016
Gina Reynolds Labour 2019
John Warmisham (Chair of Licensing Panel) Labour 2018

Little Hulton

Councillor Party Retirement
Eric Burgoyne Labour 2018
Kate Lewis Labour 2019
Pat Ryan Labour 2016


Councillor Party Retirement
Tanya Burch Labour 2018
Peter Dobbs (Ceremonial Mayor) Labour 2019
Ray Mashiter (Chair of Planning and Regulatory Panel) Labour 2016


Councillor Party Retirement
John Ferguson Labour 2019
Bernard Lea Labour 2018
Barry Warner Labour 2016

Swinton North

Councillor Party Retirement
Derek Antrobus (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2016
Jim Dawson Labour 2019
Bill Hinds (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2018

Swinton South

Councillor Party Retirement
Howard Balkind (Vice Chair Overview and Scrutiny Board) Labour 2018
Neil Blower Labour 2019
Gena Merrett (Executive Lead Member) Labour 2016

Walkden North

Councillor Party Retirement
Sammie Bellamy Labour 2019
Adrian Brocklehurst (Vice Chair Children's Scrutiny Panel) Labour 2018
Brendan Ryan Labour 2016

Walkden South

Councillor Party Retirement
Richard Critchley Labour 2016
Iain Lindley Conservative 2019
Les Turner (Leader of the Conservative Group) Conservative 2018

Weaste and Seedley

Councillor Party Retirement
Stephen Hesling Labour 2016
Paul Wilson Labour 2019
Ronnie Wilson Labour 2018


Councillor Party Retirement
Paula Boshell (Strategic Assistant Mayor) Labour 2019
David Lancaster (Deputy City Mayor) Labour 2016
Margaret Morris (Chair Health and Adults Scrutiny Panel) Labour 2018


Councillor Party Retirement
Christopher Clarkson Conservative 2019
Graham Compton Conservative 2018
Karen Garrido (Deputy Ceremonial Mayor) Conservative 2016
Rate and comment on this page

How do you rate the quality of this page?

This form allows you to give us your opinion on the quality of the content on this page. If you’d like to comment or complain about a council service, please use our complaints, comments and compliments form.

Your comments or email address will not be published on this website and are subject to our privacy statement.

Copyright Salford City Council
Salford City Council, Salford Civic Centre, Chorley Road, Swinton, Salford, M27 5AW
GOV.UK - the place to find government services and information
© Copyright Salford City Council 2016.