Langworthy by-election results announced

Wilson Nkurunziza, the Labour party candidate, has been declared the winner in the 2017 Langworthy by-election.

The turnout for the election, held Thursday 14 December, was 11.76 per cent with 1,041 votes cast.

The votes were cast as follows:

  • Michael Felse, Independent: 55 votes
  • James Mount, Conservative Party: 183 votes
  • Wilson Nkurunziza, Labour Party: 601 votes
  • Jake Overend, Liberal Democrats: 125 votes
  • Ian Pattinson, Green Party: 72 votes

Five ballot papers were rejected.

The by-election was called to find a replacement for Councillor Paul Longshaw who passed away earlier this year.

The political makeup of the council remains:

  • Labour: 49 councillors
  • Conservative: 9 councillors
  • Liberal Democrats: 0 councillors
  • Independent: 2 councillor

Share this

Date published
Friday 15 December 2017
Reference number

Press and media enquiries

Live Chat Software by Click4Assistance UK