Salford election candidates announced

One hundred and seventy eight (178) local and mayoral candidates have been announced ahead of the Salford elections in May.

The candidates officially standing for City Mayor of Salford are (in alphabetical order):

  • Stuart Antony Cremins – Independent
  • Paul Dennett - Labour Party
  • Wendy Kay Olsen - Green Party
  • Stephen Stuart Ord - Independent
  • Jake Overend - Liberal Democrats
  • Arnie Saunders - Conservative Party

All candidates had a deadline of 4pm on Thursday 8 April to submit their nomination papers.

Each registered voter in Salford will now receive a City Mayor election booklet which contains an explanation of the voting system and an election address from the candidates who supplied one.

The booklet is scheduled to be delivered by post to all voters in Salford from Monday 19 April.

This year residents also get to vote for their local councillor as all 60 council ward seats are up for election.

All the candidates for each ward are available on our elections page.

And residents also get to choose who they want to be The Greater Manchester Mayor.

Returning Officer Tom Stannard said: “The candidates have now been announced for the elections and I would encourage all residents to vote.

"The polls open at 7am on Thursday 6 May and close at 10pm.

"Residents in the city now have until Monday 19 April to register to vote and until Tuesday 20 April to register for a postal vote. Those who have not registered cannot vote in the elections. This is your chance to have your say.”

People can register to vote and sign up for postal voting.

This announcement of the candidates was delayed due to the death of the Duke of Edinburgh.

Share this

Date published
Tuesday 13 April 2021

Press and media enquiries

Rate this page