Salford City Mayor elected

Salford voters have chosen who they want to be the City Mayor of the city.

Paul Dennett from the Labour Party secured 30,892 votes to be elected as the City Mayor.

This will be Paul’s second term in office.

The mayoral election used the supplementary voting system, meaning voters had two choices.

The full results are:

Candidate Party Number of first preference votes Percentage of first preference votes
Stuart Antony Cremins - 1036 1.97%
Paul Dennett Labour Party 30892 59.00%
Wendy Kay Olsen Green Party 4585 8.75%
Stephen Stuart Ord Independent 1890 3.16%
Jake Overend Liberal Democrats 1716 3.27%
Arnie Saunders The Conservative Party Candidate 12234 23.36%
  • Elected: Paul Dennett
  • Electorate: 186,058
  • Turnout: 53,509
  • Turnout percentage: 28.76%

The count for the City Mayor election took place the day after the count for the local elections at the AJ Bell Stadium.

The count started at 11am on Saturday 8 May and the winner was announced at 2.15pm.

The City Mayor is usually elected for a four-year term but in this instance it will be three years. The Coronavirus Act 2020 ruled that the postponement of May 2020 elections should be ignored in determining the years in which subsequent elections of elected mayors are to be held.

Returning Officer Tom Stannard said: “In Salford this year it was an all-out election, which means that all 60 seats in our 20 wards were up for election. On top of this we also elected a Salford City Mayor and counted Salford’s votes towards the Greater Manchester Mayor.

“Thank you to all those people who voted and had their say on who they wanted to represent them. And also a big thank you goes to all the people who worked tirelessly and through the night to make sure the verification and count went smoothy to elect new councillors and a Salford City Mayor for our great city. It is greatly appreciated.”

on Friday 7 May the votes for the local election were counted and the results announced.

Salford City Council comprises 20 electoral wards with three councillors representing each ward.

The city council is controlled by the Labour party, the political composition of the city council is:

  • Labour with 52 councillors
  • Conservative with seven councillors
  • Liberal Democrats with one councillor

A full breakdown of the results for the local and mayoral elections is available on our election results page.

Share this

Date published
Saturday 8 May 2021

Press and media enquiries

Rate this page