Salford Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE)

What this committee does

Since 1988, local authorities have had a duty to establish a Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE). Religious education is a statutory part of the basic curriculum for all pupils, but it is not a National Curriculum subject. Instead it is a local responsibility of the local authority through its SACRE.

The SACRE advises the local authority on matters relating to collective worship in community schools and on religious education given in accordance with the locally agreed syllabus. The SACRE monitors the effectiveness and appropriateness of the agreed syllabus, which is formally reviewed every five years.

It also publishes support materials, approves a programme of training for teachers and sponsors or supports other projects which it deems to be consistent with its responsibility to promote religious education and spiritual, moral, social and cultural education in schools.

When and where it meets

SACRE meetings are held once a term and are open to the public. Meetings will be held at various religious and educational settings at 4pm. 

The next meeting will be held on Tuesday 5 November 2019, 4pm in Committee Room 2, Salford Civic Centre.

Please use the link to access agendas, minutes and reports for the previous meetings of Salford Standing Advisory Council for Religious Education (SACRE).

Committee members

SACREs consist of four groups:

  • Group A
    Representatives of Christian denominations other than the Church of England and representatives of other faiths
  • Group B
    Representatives of the Church of England
  • Group C
    Teacher members nominated by the main teacher associations
  • Group D
    LA representatives usually including elected council members

SACRE contacts

Advisor to SACRE

Kindra Belcher

Clerk to SACRE

Sophie Wroe
Admissions Officer
Unity House
M27 5AW

Telephone: 0161 778 0493

This page was last updated on 29 October 2019

Rate this page